My First Quilt

I got together with my friends yesterday, so my friend’s mom could teach us how to quilt. I think I have found a new hobby. Quilting is so much fun! We used a video tutorial off of YouTube that made it really quick and easy. Here are some pictures of what I have gotten done so far.

I laid my blocks out in this fantastic chevron pattern. I was so excited to see it all come together!

Image

Then when I sewed my first two rows together this is what happened. The inner points of the chevron don’t meet up right. I have tried to figure out a way to fix this, but I don’t know how. If any of you more advanced quilters know a way to make it meet up right I would love to know what I was doing wrong.

IMG_0165[1]

Here are the same blocks before I sewed them together.

IMG_0162[1]

At the end of the day I laid out all of my blocks to see what I had. I will be making this quilt to use as a new bedspread for my daughter’s room. I think the thing I like most about quilting is laying out the blocks and seeing what patterns you can make with them. I am excited to see how this quilt turns out.

IMG_0164[1]

If you have ever wanted to learn to quilt, I highly recommend this method of tube quilting. Although the chevron pattern didn’t work for me in the end, the tutorial was great for teaching a beginning quilter the basics of the hobby.

 

7 thoughts on “My First Quilt

  1. Well done. All those points to join is tricky for a first quilt but it looks like you have done a pretty good job. For next time, try ironing the seam allowances all towards the same side on each block ( not sure if uou did this already). Also, when there are lots of points, I cheat and just see a couple of basting stitches where two seams join, check the points and then when I am happy I go back and sew the whole seam – saves lots of unpicking!

    Keep us posted with what happens next too πŸ‘

  2. Pingback: What Did You Make Wednesday? Bow Holder | The Heartfelt Homemaker

Leave a Reply

