What Did You Make Wednesday? Bow Holder

I recently have gotten into hair bow making. I think I am making up for the first 4 years of my daughter’s life where I pretty much let her walk around with her hair hanging in her face. I finally learned how to make the hair bows and now I probably will never think she has enough of them.

The only problem I have had since starting to make the bows is finding a place to store them all. I had a belt hanging in her closet that I clipped them to, but it soon filled up.

IMG_0306[1]

Then they were scattered all over her dresser.

IMG_0304[1]

She also has a lot of headbands, other hair accessories and necklaces that I didn’t know what to do with. See her bathroom drawer!

IMG_0301[1]

I knew I had to make a bow holder of some kind so I went on Pinterest for inspiration.

I found these cute letter bow holders, this lampshade bow holder and these oatmeal canister headband holders. I had some wooden letters that my sister-in-law had painted for my kids when they were first born. They looked so cute in their nursery, but I thought this would be the perfect update for them to match my daughter’s room now. My daughter also had a lamp with a broken base. The lampshade is cylindrical just like the oatmeal canisters, so I combined the idea of the lampshade bow holder and the oatmeal canister headband holder.

IMG_0307[1]

Here’s what I did.

IMG_0259

IMG_0260

I painted the background of my letters pink.

IMG_0262

Then I painted a chevron pattern on the letters. I figured if I couldn’t make the chevron work on the quilt, I might as well make it work on the bow holder. I put a sample piece of the quilt in the picture so you can see how they will go together. I am hoping to finish up on the quilt in a couple of weeks.

IMG_0308[1]

I simply hot glued ribbon to the back of the four letters in the middle. My ribbons are 36 inches long. I added four cup hooks to each of the letters at the beginning and end of her name to use for the necklaces. I added saw tooth hangers and rubber bumpers to the back of each square. Now I’ve got that tongue twister in my head…rubber baby buggy bumpers. I hung them kind of wonky so I didn’t have to stress out too much over getting it all perfectly straight and level.

IMG_0309[1]

Then I organized all of her headbands onto the lampshade.

IMG_0310[1]

I organized her brushes, combs, water spray bottle and spray conditioner in one of my Herbalife containers and simply slid the lampshade down over the top.

Now I just have to figure out what I want to put in that empty drawer in the bathroom!

6 thoughts on “What Did You Make Wednesday? Bow Holder

Leave a Reply

