How To Organize Ties

My husband is a preacher. He owns A. Lot. Of. Ties! He loves to wear crazy ties as I call them. He has a Mr. Potato Head tie, a whole collection of Mickey Mouse ties, a tie with money printed all over it, and several that my dad has brought him back from other countries. These are just to name a few. We have always shared a closet and those ties seemed to take up a lot of space. I tried to organize them by hanging them over a hanger. I had several hangers filled with ties and all the ties would eventually shift to one end of the hanger and then the hanger would hang wonky in the closet. (Wonky is a very technical term, you know.) One Christmas I found a motorized tie organizer which actually held all of his ties. I think the ties must have been too heavy for the motor though, because after about a month it stopped working. I now organize his ties using towel rods. I found the idea in a book titled Sunset Ideas for Storage: Cabinets, Closets, Bookshelves.

IMG_0457[1]

IMG_0460[1]

I bought four towel bars on clearance at Target and got to work putting them up. I hung the towel bars so that when I hung a tie over the top towel bar the bottom of the tie could be tucked behind the towel bar below it and so on and so forth. Since I had four towel bars, I had three bars to hang ties on and the lowest one to tuck the ties behind.

IMG_0454[1]

IMG_0456[1]

IMG_0455[1]

We live in a parsonage and while we have amazing living spaces, we have teeny tiny bedrooms with itty bitty closets. I love how this project saves valuable space in our closet. With it behind our bedroom door, it is a space saver that can be hidden from view, which is another plus!

5 thoughts on “How To Organize Ties

  1. Sad for your motorized tie rack. I bought one for Russ for Christmas and his works great. He still hasn’t worn the tie that I think belongs in a barbershop quartet. Guess I ruined it for him. :-/

  2. We got lucky with a wooden tie holder deal from a yard sale. It’s the same type as the racks you found but they are much closer and it’s hard to put the ties under the bar in front of it. But it was a dollar, so we don’t complain much:) I force Bryan to go thru his ties once a year and get rid of ones he never wears. He isn’t a connoisseur like your hubby, just a clothes horse.

Leave a Reply

